Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS curriculum is responsible for a child’s development from birth until they are 5 years old. Here at JCS our EYFS curriculum begins at 2 years old and continues through to 5 years old:

  • Pre-school 1: 2-3 years old
  • Pre-school 2: 3 - 4 years old
  • Reception: 4 - 5 years old

At JCS children are provided with rewarding and enjoyable experiences in which they explore, investigate, discover and create, thus securing the foundations for their future learning.

At times these activities are directed by teachers and carefully planned, though there will be many opportunities for the children to follow their interests, plan, and create their own activities with teachers observing, encouraging and extending their play. Activities take place each day both indoors and outdoors, using different areas and resources in order to provide a wide range of learning experiences.

There are 7 main areas of learning and development of the EYFS:

helping children become successful learners
enhancing and stretching knowledge
Physical Development Literacy
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Mathematics
Communication and Language Understanding the World
Expressive Arts

Our EYFS staff will be observing and supporting children in their play, whilst considering 3 the Characteristics of Learning:

  • Playing and Exploring - engagement
  • Active Learning - motivation
  • Creative Learning - critical thinking

At JCS the EYFS curriculum is followed throughout Pre-school and Reception. It is intended that the programme will create independent, motivated and engaged learners who will have a strong, solid foundation on which to build from Year 1 upward.

You can access the EYFS curriculum (from 0-5 years old) official document via this link: EYFS Curriculum